Chronicles of Esshar as a New (ish) Player
I've been playing this game since February 11th 2021 now. I've never played an RP game like it before, where it's both writing and gaming in one. 
With this preface, I have some feedback I'd like to give. 

I love the game truly! It's the most immersive I've been in an RPG. The fact that people can walk up to you in a scene, start something, etc, is very VERY cool!
HOWEVER
My biggest gripe with it overall is the Lack of Communication / Difficulty finding information AND finding Consistent Information.

As a new player, I expected the information to be on the Wiki, on the main webpage, or on the main forum. Information about Lore, how to join, rules, and character creation. I've since found out that much of it is outdated, or spread across multiple wikis (Also outdated) forum posts and even google documents. It's hard to know what's canon/how things work mechanically. 

I'll try to break it down a little bit more; 

Joining:
When I first joined the game, I didn't know how to get a BYOND account. Then when I did, I thought I could play the game via the BYOND launcher. (I couldn't, because the BYOND launcher does not match the freestanding launcher afaik)

When I did finally get the launcher to work (Thanks to very helpful people on the discord) I got stuck on character creation simply because I didn't know to understand what the different starting points meant, what was limited, what races meant what (nothing mentioned stats, skills or racial traits), etc. Again, discord helped me.  People in the game, players, saved me from not joining. 

Lore:
This sort of flows into joining: Settling on races and places, was hard because the wiki had very little information on how races impact the world, as well as places, impact the world.